Some works in progress and doodles on the back of a napkin

9 11 2007

Well, not a napkin but my new sketchbook which is almost as good as some napkins and a length of thread.
These are the drafts for pages 2,3,4 and 5 of Sarah and my collaboration.

page2 Leprechauns

Text is about the Leprechaun, written into the page.


We can speak not their names, only that they are ‘the Good People.’ Beware not to anger them! Only at half light do they reveal themselves in their true forms- be they the most beautiful or terrible of creatures.
Page4 Faeries steal yr bb

They have been known to abduct children; to lead people astray in bogs/forests.

Faeries marry ppl

Many have succumbed to their ethereal beauty. Tales are told of those who followed their beloved to their world, but a time came when they pined for the human life they left behind. They return home only to find many years have passed. (close up on wrinkly hands)

What does everyone think? I’ve been having problems thinking of a ryhme or limerick short enough to fit to fit with page 2.

And I overheard this story the other day and thought of Paul *sniff*

DavidLynch

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 11 2007
Tom Smith

hi fionnuala!
it looks really great…it makes me think me of a line in a pavement song which goes ‘irish folktales scare the shit out of me’. i’m looking forward to seeing how your leprechaun story progresses…
and it’s cool that you got to see david lynch in the flesh. have you seen the comic strip that he used to draw? it’s called ‘the angriest dog in the world’. i love it!
T

11 11 2007
fionnualad

I didn’t actually meet him (boo-urns) but some friends and friends of friends went along to his transcendental meditation talk. They all said he was really wholesome and chipper. :/

18 11 2007
Mari

Looks great, Fionnuala! I love the one with the hands and the horse…

I actually heard that Lynch was doing the same lecture in finland also! I would have wanted to see that… Oh well, I’m always in the wrong place I guess 😉

Leave a Reply

